Eva Profousová

6. 6. 2013

06_Eva Profousová FotoEva Profousová
Foto © Thomas Rommel

(born 1963 in Prague) studied Bohemian Studies, Russian Studies and East European History in Hamburg and Glasgow. From 1992 to 2002 she was the director of the Honorary Consulate General of the Czech Republic in Hamburg. Since 2002 she is a freelance literary translator and journalist. She translated numerous prose writers and playwrights into German, i.a. Jáchym Topol, Radka Denemarková, Jaroslav Rudiš, Michal Viewegh, Miloš Urban, Tereza Boučková, Petr Zelenka or Jan Pitínský. She has been awarded many prizes for her translations – 2012 the George Dehio Award for the Advancement of Books (together with Radka Denemarková), 2010 the Award for the Advancement of Literary Translations from the city of Hamburg. Eva Profousová lives in Hamburg.

How did you end up being a literary translator?

At the very beginning I actually began to study translation and interpretation in Prague, but then I fled the country and never thought that I would work as a translator. In Hamburg I tried to at first and then quit and thought I would become an academic. After the fall of the wall I briefly worked at the embassy where I met Tomáš Kafka, the cultural attaché at that time, poet and translator – and suddenly I thought: translation is actually a great thing and something I could try.

The decisive moment for me was as Sister by Jáchym Topol was published. This book was incredibly important for me and I knew I wanted to translate it. And that’s how it luckily came together to where I translated it together with my friend and former roommate, with Beate Smandek.  For me this was also the moment I returned to Prague from emigration. I believe this is also the reason why I have to translate: for me this means that I engage in and deal with where I come from. As I see it, I am not a translator but a mediator.

You have been a literary translator already for a long time, how does Czech literature fare in the German-speaking countries in your opinion?

Not as well as in the past. After the fall of the wall there was a considerably high demand for Czech literature, one wanted to rediscover the country through literature. There were many readings and reading tours of Czech authors across Germany. Meanwhile I have the impression that today one increasingly is in search of books that sell well and have the potential to become bestsellers, which is rarely the case for Czech books. In the past two, three years the fact that the Department of Foreign Affairs is not financially supporting the translation of East European languages anymore is making itself felt in the number of translation jobs. The publishers know that they will not make a profit with this. One would have to sell at least 7,000 copies of the book so that there will be a positive return, and this is not the case for Czech books. Those authors who already have a German translation might not have as much of a plight, but not always. This happens again and again, also with Jáchym Topol, Jaroslav Rudiš or lately with Radka Denemarková –not automatically does previous translations infer that further books are also translated immediately. One repeatedly looks at sales numbers which is actually very bitter.

Do you have an author who you especially like to translate? And are there differences between books that you enjoy reading and those you enjoy translating?

I have only discovered that there are books one enjoys reading because they are nice and entertaining. And while translating one realizes that they are not written well at all. One does not really realize this during a quick read, but when one has to recreate this in the other language, it becomes aggravating. But in general I would like to translate a book that I find interesting and that resonates with me.

How is it with both languages for you when you compare German and Czech – are here things that are especially difficult to translate or in turn areas in which both languages are similar?

They are much more similar as I would have thought earlier, we have a similar basic structure, also when thinking… the pictures often correlate. In a certain sense we are lucky that we translate from Czech into German. One easily notices that the two languages have lived next to each other for a long time. At least this is my subjective viewpoint.

Something I always have difficulties with is the sudden tense change. In Czech this often happens and not always is it possible to exactly understand why. This irritates me sometimes. What I personally consider to be a big problem is that in the colloquial Czech language a great number of German malapropisms exist. For this I still do not have a patented solution, with each book I try to find a different solution because this aspect plays a different role with each author. This distresses me sometimes.

Are you currently working on a specific translation or do you have a book you have discovered that you would like to translate?

For a little while I took a break from translating but at this moment there are two projects on my desk. Currently I am translating a book that fits our conversation: Konec punku v Helsinkách by Jaroslav Rudiš. It is set in Leipzig even if the city is not mentioned. And for this book the great challenge for me is to find a language which is supposed to be used by Czech punks. For this one needs a type of slang – Rudiš uses in part the German language because the heroine has a German grandma – and now I try to find some linguistic reference points in documents on the East-German punk scene. And once I am finished with this book there is already another novel waiting for me, also very interesting even though linguistically completely different: Žítkovské bohyně by Kateřina Tučková, which will be published by DVA.

Just recently I discovered a book for myself which was self-published in the Czech Republic and which I very much would like to translate: Hejno bez ptáků by Filip Doušek. I really liked it and though that it would be a trendsetter of sorts, which one could also need in Germany. It’s on new paradigms we have to find in our way of thinking in order to be able to perceive the world in a different way. However, as of yet no publisher has dared. In addition I would also like to very much translate Jan Balabán’s Zeptej se táty, which also a book no one would like to publish because it is too gloomy and because it not only deals with death but also with religion. This is not always well received here. At least not by the publishing houses I have suggested this novel to. One wants something from Eastern Europe that is light and funny and not always so… thought-provoking.

 Eva Profousová speaking with Martina Lisa in Leipzig

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Newsletter

Übersetzungswürfel

Translating cube

Veranstaltungen

Events

Eva Profousová

6. 6. 2013

06_Eva Profousová FotoEva Profousová
Foto © Thomas Rommel

(geb. 1963 in Prag) studierte Bohemistik, Russistik und Osteuropäische Geschichte in Hamburg und Glasgow, 1992-2002 war sie Leiterin des Honorargeneralkonsulats der Tschechischen Republik in Hamburg. Seit 2002 ist sie freiberufliche Literaturübersetzerin und Publizistin. Sie übersetzte zahlreiche Prosa- und Theaterautoren ins Deutsche, u. a.: Jáchym Topol, Radka Denemarková, Jaroslav Rudiš, Michal Viewegh, Miloš Urban, Tereza Boučková, Petr Zelenka oder Jan Pitínský. Für ihre Übersetzungen wurde sie mehrfach ausgezeichnet – 2012 Georg Dehio Buchförderpreis (zusammen mit Radka Denemarková), 2010 Hamburger Förderpreis für literarische Übersetzungen. Eva Profousová lebt in Hamburg.

Wie war Ihr Weg zu Literaturübersetzerin?

Ganz ursprünglich habe ich tatsächlich angefangen in Prag Übersetzen-Dolmetschen zu studieren, aber dann bin ich geflüchtet und hätte eigentlich nie gedacht, dass ich als Übersetzerin arbeiten werde. Ich habe es am Anfang in Hamburg versucht und habe es dann gelassen und dachte, ich werde Wissenschaftlerin. Nach der Wende habe ich kurz bei der Botschaft gearbeitet, wo ich den damaligen Kulturattaché Tomáš Kafka kennenlernte, einen Dichter und Übersetzer – und plötzlich dachte ich: Übersetzen ist doch was Tolles, das könnte ich mal probieren.

Der wichtigste Punkt für mich war, als Die Schwester von Jáchym Topol erschien. Das war ein Buch, das für mich unglaublich wichtig war, und ich wusste, das will ich übersetzen. So hat es sich auch glücklicherweise gefügt und ich habe es mit meiner einstigen Mitbewohnerin und Freundin zusammen übersetzt, mit Beate Smandek. Für mich war das auch der Moment der Rückkehr aus der Emigration wieder zurück nach Prag. Ich glaube, es ist auch der Grund, warum ich übersetzen muss: Für mich bedeutet es die Auseinandersetzung damit, wo ich herkomme. Ich bin in meinen Augen eigentlich keine Übersetzerin, sondern ich bin eine Vermittlerin.

Sie sind nun schon lange als Literaturübersetzerin im Geschäft, wie steht es Ihrer Meinung nach im deutschsprachigen Raum um die tschechische Literatur?

Nicht mehr so gut wie früher. Nach der Wende gab es einen ziemlich großen Bedarf an tschechischer Literatur, man wollte das Land mittels Literatur neu erkunden. Es gab viele Lesungen und Lesereisen von tschechischen Autoren quer durch Deutschland. Mittlerweile habe ich das Gefühl, dass man heute verstärkt nach Büchern sucht, die sich gut verkaufen lassen, die das Potenzial zum Bestseller haben, was für tschechische Bücher selten gilt. In den letzten zwei, drei Jahren ist auch deutlich zu merken, dass das Auswärtige Amt die Übersetzungen aus osteuropäischen Sprachen nicht mehr finanziell unterstützt, was sich stark in der Auftragslage widerspiegelt. Die Verlage wissen, sie machen damit überhaupt keinen Gewinn. Man müsste schon 7.000 Exemplare verkaufen, damit sich ein Buch rentiert – und das ist bei tschechischen Büchern nicht der Fall.

Die Autoren, die schon eine deutsche Übersetzung haben, haben es vielleicht um einiges leichter, aber auch nicht immer. Man erlebt das immer wieder, auch bei Jáchym Topol, Jaroslav Rudiš oder jetzt bei Radka Denemarková – es heißt nicht automatisch, dass sofort auch weitere Bücher übersetzt werden. Man guckt immer wieder nach den Verkaufszahlen, was tatsächlich sehr bitter ist.

Haben Sie eine Autorin oder einen Autor, die oder den Sie besonders gerne übersetzen? Und gibt es Unterschiede zwischen Büchern, die Sie gerne lesen, und denen, die Sie gerne übersetzen?

Ich habe nur festgestellt, dass es Bücher gibt, die man gerne liest, weil sie nett und kurzweilig sind. Und beim Übersetzen stellt man fest, dass sie gar nicht gut geschrieben sind. Das bekommt man beim schnellen Lesen nicht wirklich mit, aber wenn man es dann in der anderen Sprache nachbilden muss, ärgert es einen. Aber im Allgemeinen würde ich ein Buch, das ich spannend finde, das mich innerlich anspricht, auch gerne übersetzen.

Wie ist es mit den beiden Sprachen für Sie, wenn Sie das Deutsche und das Tschechische vergleichengibt es Sachen, die besonders schwierig sind zu übersetzen oder wiederum Bereiche, wo sich die Sprachen sehr nahe liegen?

Sie sind sich viel näher, als ich früher gedacht hätte, wir haben eine ähnliche Grundstruktur, auch im Denken… die Bilder stimmen meistens überein. Im gewissen Sinne haben wir Glück, dass wir aus dem Tschechischen ins Deutsche übersetzen. Man merkt, dass die beiden Sprachen lange nebeneinander gelebt haben. Das ist zumindest mein subjektives Gefühl.

Womit ich mich immer schwer tue, ist der plötzliche Tempuswechsel. Der kommt im Tschechischen häufig vor und ist nicht immer genau nachzuvollziehen. Das ärgert mich manchmal. Was ich persönlich als ein großes Problem empfinde, ist, dass es in der tschechischen Umgangssprache ganz viele deutsche Verballhornungen gibt. Da habe ich immer noch kein Patentrezept, bei jedem Buch versuche ich dafür eine andere Lösung zu finden, weil dieser Aspekt bei jedem Autor auch eine andere Rolle spielt. Das quält mich manchmal.

Arbeiten Sie gerade an einer bestimmten Übersetzung oder haben Sie eine Buchentdeckung, die Sie gerne übersetzen möchten?

Ich hatte für eine Weile eine Pause vom Übersetzen, aber im Moment habe ich zwei Projekte auf dem Tisch:  Gerade übersetze ich ein Buch, das gut zu unserem Gespräch passt: Konec punku v Helsinkách von Jaroslav Rudiš. Es spielt hier in Leipzig, obwohl die Stadt nicht genannt wird. Und in diesem Buch ist für mich die große Herausforderung eine Sprache zu finden, in der die tschechischen Punks sprechen sollen. Da braucht man eine Art Slang – bei Rudiš ist er zum Teil über das Deutsche aufgebaut, weil die Heldin eine deutsche Oma hat – und ich versuche jetzt, in Dokumenten über die ostdeutsche Punkszene ein paar sprachliche Anhaltspunkte zu finden. Und wenn das Buch fertig ist, wartet schon ein anderer Roman auf mich, auch der sehr spannend, wenn auch sprachlich ganz anders: Žítkovské bohyně von Kateřina Tučková, wird bei DVA erscheinen.

Die Buchentdeckung war für mich vor kurzem ein Buch, das in Tschechien im Selbstverlag erschienen ist und das ich unglaublich gerne übersetzen würde: Hejno bez ptáků von Filip Doušek. Ich fand es richtig klasse und dachte, das wäre etwas Zukunftsweisendes, das man auch in Deutschland bräuchte. Es geht darum, dass wir in unserem Denken neue Paradigmen suchen müssen, um die Welt anders wahrzunehmen. Doch bis jetzt hat sich kein Verlag getraut. Ich würde außerdem sehr gerne von Jan Balabán Zeptej se táty übersetzen, das will aber auch keiner machen, weil es zu düster ist und weil es da nicht nur um den Tod, sondern auch um die Religion geht, das kommt hier nicht immer gut an. Zumindest nicht bei den Verlagen, denen ich es vorgeschlagen habe. Man möchte irgendwas aus Osteuropa haben, was leicht ist und lustig und nicht immer so … nachdenklich.

Eva Profousová im Gespräch mit Martina Lisa in Leipzig

Ihr Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Newsletter

Blog

Übersetzungswürfel

Translating cube

Veranstaltungen

Events